“Vixen”

04/28/2011 at 8:56 pm (book recommendation) (, , , , , , , , , , )

I know that I disappeared again.  I’ve been really busy at work, and since I’m going back home to the East Coast for a little over a week, I’m trying to get all caught up at my job.  Unfortunately, staying late and the like totally zaps my energy and kills my writing motivation.  I would like to say that I’ll be better about posting after this week, but I’m not sure if that will be the case while I’m at home.  So, sorry in advance for my potential silence next week!

In the mean time, here’s a book review/recommendation:

“Vixen” by Jillian Larkin

“Vixen” takes place during the Jazz age, or the age of the flappers in Chicago.  There are three main characters, and the story is told from each of their perspectives.

There’s Gloria, who has a pristine reputation and is about to be married off, but she wants to live the life of a flapper, so she ends up living a double life.  There’s her cousin, Clara, who used to be a big time flapper in New York City, but is living a lie in Chicago, pretending to be a good country girl.  And then there’s Gloria’s best friend, Lorraine, who is jealous of Gloria, yet she is trying desperately to hang onto their friendship as it slowly slips away.

I thought the style of writing in this book was really good, and everything was so vivid and easy to picture.  I liked how much each of the characters changed throughout the book, especially Lorraine, even though Clara was my favorite.  I am definitely going to go out and buy the sequel when it’s out.

On a typical scale, I would have to give “Vixen” 4 out of 5 stars.  It had everything going for it, but in the second half of the book there was a major turning point that I found a little unbelievable.  I also wasn’t too blown away by the ending.  I felt like some of the coincidences that were leading up to all the characters going to the same place felt a little forced.  But all and all, it was a really well written book, with some really great examples of character growth.  I would recommend it to anyone who likes young adult, historical fiction, and some good romance.

1 Comment

  1. jgavinallan said,

    I love the characters of the book. Three different personalities. 4 out of 5, I guess you liked it. What of the men in their lives? Do they affect their choices?

    byebye
    Jaye

Leave a Reply

