Happy Belated Easter, or Any Other Holiday You Might Have Been Celebrating!

04/25/2011 at 8:02 pm (book recommendation, Moday Check In) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

This past weekend was actually really productive for me.  Even if I didn’t get everything done that I had hoped to.  I did manage to get all the scenes that I felt needed work in my novel fixed up along with everything my critique group suggested to me.  So what that means is that as soon as I get feedback from my last test readers, I’m going to start sending out query letters!

Also, this weekend I took a small break from “Boneshaker” by Cherie Priest, the book I was reading last week, and started reading “Vixen,” by Jillian Larkin.  So far I really like it.  All the lies and tension building up between the main characters is really great.  I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who likes young adult historical fiction, although, I do think that this book was written for more of a female audience.

And just in case anyone was curious, just because I’m taking a small break from “Boneshaker” doesn’t mean that I don’t think that the book isn’t good.  It just means that it wasn’t what I was looking for when I started reading it.  I was looking for something a little more lighthearted with some romance.  But from what I’ve read of “Boneshaker,” it’s very well written with a really strong female protagonist.  Her son’s not too bad either.  So if you’re in the mood for steampunk, and zombies, give it a try.

Well, that and going to and Easter party was my weekend.  Did everyone else have a great weekend?

2 Comments

  1. Diana Douglas said,

    I bought my grandkids Easter cupcakes that turned their mouths various colors. Gotta love kids. They put everything in perspective.

  2. kelworthfiles said,

    It’s been a lot of holidays since we last heard from you. What’ve you been up to?

    If you get a chance, check out a fellow writer’s zombie story and help me make him wear an embarrassing shirt next year! It’s the ultimate grudge match between social media and the zombies. Details are here:
    http://kelworthfiles.wordpress.com/2011/07/19/prove-the-zombies-wrong-social-platforms-can-build-readership/

Leave a Reply

