The End

04/05/2011 at 5:45 pm (Writing) (, , , , , , , , , , )

I don’t know why it is, but the end is the trickiest section of my novel that I’ve had to write, and believe me, that’s saying a lot!  I’ve reworked it many times, and I’m still not satisfied with it.  Maybe I find it so hard to do because most of the stories I wrote in middle school and highschool never made it to the end, so I haven’t had as much practice with it.  Or maybe it’s just the endings really are just plain tricky.

I know that I’ve read many reviews of books where people’s biggest complaints have been that the book had a disappointing ending.  I’ve even read a couple of books that I really liked, but then I got to the end, and it was a huge let down.  So I’m thinking from now on, when I write about my book recommendations on Friday, one of the things I will point out is whether or not I feel the book had a sufficiently good ending, and nothing like: …and they lived happily ever after.  The End.

And while we’re on the topic of endings, “The Secret Hour” by Scott Westerfeld did not have one that saved the book from a three star rating.  I liked the book, but I didn’t love it.

11 Comments

  1. neilmdonnelly said,

    The end usually is somewhat difficult, especially in a novel. There are just so many things that have to come to a resolution and also tie in with one another. I’ve just started posting writing tips, and thanks to your post, I think I’ll make my next post about endings. Thanks for the inspiration.

  2. Ally said,

    I hate writing endings ’cause by the time I get there, I’ve bonded with my characters and their a part of me. I don’t want to let go. Plus by that point my minds constantly asking “what next?”. when I was younger, I’d kill them as there’s no “what next” there. Now, I tidy up the loose ends and remind myself, if I can’t let go… I can always write the sequel 🙂

    • Kati Bartkowski's storysketches said,

      I don’t know that I’d be willing to go so far as to kill my characters off to end my book…or at least not most of them. I do plan to write a sequel, but I want to make sure that my ending to my first novel is as good as can make it first.

  3. Deana Birks said,

    I read once that the first few pages are the most important for getting someone to read *this* book, and the last few pages are the most important to make them pick up the *next* book. I mean, sheesh, no pressure, right?

    • Kati Bartkowski's storysketches said,

      Like life wasn’t hard enough without the added pressure. 🙂

      Well, since I do want people to read the next book, I might want to take another look at my ending. I don’t think it’s quite there yet.

  4. neilmdonnelly said,

    I’m typically awful at writing endings, but I feel like the last couple I’ve written are pretty good. The post titled “Snowflakes in May,” is one of those stories. It’s vulgar, but I think it has a strong ending.

    • Kati Bartkowski's storysketches said,

      I guess the more endings you write, the better you get at writing them. Although, it’s probably still sad when it’s all done.

      Do you have a link to “Snowflakes in May” to read? I’m fine with reading pretty much anything.

  5. usaukwoods said,

    I find the end difficult sometimes because I get so attached and don’t want it to come to an end. I sometimes write a what comes next story for the characters and see what they are doing and then I go back and write the end. It is good for me because it is not really goodbye then and it lends itself to a start on the next book.

    • Kati Bartkowski's storysketches said,

      I think I’ll be most sad when I’m done writing a series. Then it really will be goodbye to the characters you’ve gotten to know for several books. I have that trouble when I’m finished reading a good book or series.

  6. neilmdonnelly said,

    Here you go! If you like it, pass the link along 🙂
    http://neilmdonnelly.wordpress.com/2011/04/05/hello-world/

Leave a Reply

