“Starcrossed” My First Book Review

04/01/2011 at 7:56 pm (book recommendation) (, , , , , , , , , )

"Starcrossed"

“Starcrossed”

By Elizabeth C. Bunce

 

This being my first Friday book recommendation, I’m not exactly sure how I should go about doing this.  What I am sure about is the book I have chosen for today.

 

I finished reading “Starcrossed” about a couple of weeks ago, and I loved it!  I loved it so much that the first opportunity I got after finishing it I jumped online to try and see when the next book was coming out.  But my search was sadly fruitless, and I couldn’t even find the title of the next book, let alone a date it’s supposed to be out by.

 

It’s about a thief named Digger, and she’s pretty much on the run (as a lot of thieves are in fantasy books), but she manages to get herself in as a handmaiden to a noble girl.  While she’s living her double life, one of the nobles finds out about her being a thief, and uses that information to blackmail her into working for him.

 

For those of you who are like me and love a good young adult fantasy novel with a strong female protagonist, pick up “Starcrossed” and give it a read.  You will not be disappointed.  Digger is a great main character, although she can be a little cold at times, do to all the hardships she has had in her past, and she is surrounded by a great cast of supporting characters, all with their own unique, individual personalities.  The setting is very easy to picture, and I find it incredibly fascinating that the world has multiple moons.  I also like how the magic is very important to the story, but it doesn’t overshadow all the other subtle details weaved into the plot.

 

“Starcrossed” caught me a little by surprise.  I was expecting a story that was lighthearted and full of humor, but even though it turned out to be a little darker than I expected, in no way was I disappointed.  I would definitely give his book five out of five stars.

 

I hope this review/recommendation was helpful without giving anything too important away, and I’ll have another book to suggest to read next week!

 

12 Comments

  1. Siobhan said,

    That’s a lovely first review. I’ll keep an eye out for more from you 🙂

  2. viviennecrow said,

    I just had a look on the author’s website and it says that the next book of Digger’s story is LIAR’S MOON. It doesn’t have a date of release but that’s what the title is. I hope that helps 🙂

    • Kati Bartkowski's storysketches said,

      Thank you, that does help. Hopefully the author doesn’t make the wait to long for the next book. I’ll have to check out her website again later.

    • Beth Coon said,

      From what I have read LIAR’S MOON will be out in late October or November, and I can hardly wait either.
      I liked the review very much. This book kept surprising me all the way through it. Rumor is the next is even better, if possible!

      • Kati Bartkowski's storysketches said,

        October and November seem so far away! 🙂 Better than this first book is hard to believe, but at the same time the writing was so good I expect that her entire series will be a good one.

        Thank you, Beth!

  3. Caitlynn Lowe said,

    I love YA fantasy…well, for the most part…and this one seems pretty interesting. I might have to put it on my to-read list. 🙂

  4. artravis said,

    I like those kind of stories. Although my book will be both light and dark. Big swings in both directions.

  5. Deana Birks said,

    Sounds like just my kind of book! Will definitely check it out.

Leave a Reply

