The New Kid on the Blog

03/31/2011 at 3:16 am (Blogging, Social Media, Writing) (, , , , , , , , , , )

As you all know, I am really, very new at this whole social media thing.  So, pretty much anything anyone has to teach me about the blogging world is much appreciated.

Earlier today I was doing my little, daily drunken stumble from blog post to blog post (although I wasn’t really drinking, so it was more like a sober stumble), and I came across Kristen Lamb’s blog post “Go Hard or Go Home – Blogging & Branding.”  Reading this post was very helpful, but I wasn’t much more than a tenth of the way through when I started thinking, “crap!  I’m doing something totally wrong!”

It might be common sense to a lot of people, but I was not aware that my writing blog’s name should have my actual name in it.  I would have saved myself a lot of time and trouble just calling it “Kati Bartkowski’s Blog” rather than fretting over what I felt might be the ideal name.  Since I am, as I mentioned earlier, new at this, I won’t kick myself too hard over it.

Fixing this little issue should be easy enough.  When I am through writing this post, I will go ahead and put my name in my blog and my user name, and from this day forth, all my posts will have Kati Bartkowski listed in all the tabs.

The goal here is to see if I can get my blog seen before all my old Judo tournament results and slow race times when anyone tries to google my name.  Wish me luck on this venture, because I’m definitely going to need it.

8 Comments

  1. Diana Douglas said,

    I’m a new blogger and feeling a little lost, too. Loved your blog & sketches. What kind of novel did you write?

    • Kati Bartkowski's storysketches said,

      Thank you, Diana. My novel I wrote was a young adult fantasy novel, but I’m going to be trying to work on a young adult sci-fi or distopian novel later.

      I do hear that blogging and social media and general gets easier with time and practice. I only hope that that is indeed the case.

  2. usaukwoods said,

    Good luck Kati! I am new on this journey as well.

  3. Caitlynn Lowe said,

    I’m also fairly new at this — at least, I’m new to the idea of blogging seriously. But I didn’t think to include my actual name in my writing blog’s name, either. Oops. Now that you mention it, it does seem pretty sensible. Oh well…it’s probably just my stubbornness kicking in, but I still like my blog name, anyway. 😛

    • Kati Bartkowski's storysketches said,

      Well, the sensible thing isn’t always the most fun way to do something. I like my blog name, but since I only had it up for a few days I could be convinced to adjust it, but just a little. : )

  4. viviennecrow said,

    Don’t worry Kati, blogging get’s easier with practice 🙂 I moved from LiveJournal to here and I’m loving it. I’ve been a blogger for quite awhile but only been using WordPress since I started writing. You’ll get the hang of it don’t worry.

Leave a Reply

