Feeling Like a Writer

03/28/2011 at 3:11 am (Writing) (, , , , )

The day has finally come.  I’ve completed what feels like 10,012 drafts and am now holding onto a printed manuscript of my novel.  So I flip it open to a random page, and what do I see?  A typo.  (Sigh) Oh well.  Looks like I still have a little work to do before beginning the complicated and nerve racking querying process.  But even still, holding onto a printed copy of my 88,000-word story, I feel for the first time like a real writer.

I never expected to be a writer when I was young.  Sure, I liked to write, and I loved to read, but I had always visualized myself illustrating the covers of books, not writing the interior of them.  My idols were Michael Whelan and Brom, not Mercedes Lackey and Tamora Pierce.

That’s not to say that I didn’t respect my favorite authors and their art of creating whole worlds with words alone, I just didn’t expect to be doing that kind of art myself.  But now that I have almost a complete novel I have written at my fingertips, I feel in some ways more excited and proud than I have after drawing one of my master pieces, and I only hope to get a chance to share my novel with everyone who would be interested in reading it.

6 Comments

  1. lunaleo said,

    Congratulations on finishing your first novel!

    Have you ever thought about designing your own cover? Granted, if you did go through the traditional publishing route, that would be done for you, but it would be interesting to see your idea of what the cover should look like, since that was your first passion.

    • storysketches said,

      I have considered what I would do if I were the one illustrating the cover for my novel, but by time I do get my novel published I think that I’ll just be so thrilled that I’ll be excited to see another illustrators interpretation. I have drawn maps and character designs for it though. 🙂

  2. Ally said,

    Gratz on finishing your manuscript. I’ve edited mine a countless number of times and still find mistakes.

    I’ve always wanted to be a writer since I could write and never really acknowledged the covers. Now, I design how I think my novels should look for fun.

    Thanks for following me. Not sure how you found me. I’m new to word press too. Going to figure out how to follow you back as you sound like your in the same boat as me and be cool to encourage each other along.

    • storysketches said,

      Thank you Ally! A large part of the reason why I started this blog was to find other writers in a similar situation to me. Good luck with “Drift,” and I look forward to reading more of your posts about your writing and publishing adventures.

  3. juanvillagrana said,

    Congrats! I can’t wait til I finish my manuscript! LOL @ at the typo, btw. I was reading through the second draft of my WIP and the errors just popped out, so I know the feeling.
    Good luck!

  4. Deana Birks said,

    Congrats on the progress! That’s awesome.

Leave a Reply

